Squishy socks

Word of advice: don’t lose a glove in February because you won’t be able to buy new gloves anywhere. Instead, there are bathing suits, shorts, and spring clothes in the stores. On clearance you may find scarfs, scores of ugly purses, and odd sizes and colors of thermal underwear. Nary a glove in sight at Target. So I satisfied myself by buying some cozy socks. Slippers are the best, but cozy socks are the next best thing. I’ll keep wearing my gloves that don’t match my coat and take comfort in my socks when I come home. We haven’t broken double digit temperatures in a few days, but I hope that changes soon. This deep freeze is something I’ve become unaccustomed to and I need a break. People have been driving like Miss Daisy’s chauffeur or like speed demons. I feel like I am risking my life every time I get behind the wheel.

cozy sock

And I’m trying to eat better. I haven’t eaten out in a few days. My body is going through withdrawals. Oatmeal? Banana? Yogurt!? I am still eating more than my fair share of calories and fat, but at least throwing in some broccoli, carrots, and apples can’t hurt, right? A little exercise here, a little there… I can’t help but eat some junk because there isn’t anything hearty enough that’s light. So I made some chili in the crock pot on Sunday. Feels kind of good to eat better.

1 Response to “Squishy socks”


  1. 1 shel February 7, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    What, no gloves?????? Did you try Lees? They always have gloves, don’t they???? Crap! Nice socks. Proud of you for eating better, too! We missed you at the Superbowl suaree.


Leave a Reply

del.icio.us


