Sony makes me sick

DRM is stupid, but I begrudgingly acknowledge why music companies are protective of content. People steal music. And movies. And whatever else. A lot. Kids these days feel entitled to it and don’t see any problem with downloading pirated music. But Sony is stupid.

From Ars Technica: Sony BMG’s chief anti-piracy lawyer: “Copying” music you own is “stealing”

Ridiculous. They say that if you own a music CD and rip it so you can listen to it on your computer or mp3 player, that is theft. Completely ridiculous. So… if I purchase a Sony owned song on iTunes and iTunes recommends backing that up, am I “stealing” a copy by backing up a digital file which is susceptible to loss? Unbelievably stupid. Where has common sense gone? Makes me want to avoid buying any music from Sony artists or films from Sony studios so I can avoid violating their silly interpretation of a DMCA violation. Sad.

0 Responses to “Sony makes me sick”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




del.icio.us